OLD WORLD AND NEW WORLD  Kocsis season ticket 1

OLD WORLD AND NEW WORLD Kocsis season ticket 1

Making up the programme for this concert by the Hungarian National Philharmonic will be Polish and Czech masterpieces, compositions from both the Romantic era and the 20th century: a popular piano concerto accompanied by symphonic works inspired by landscapes, the first by a historic region of Poland and the second by America.  more

Current events

The Argentinian piano virtuoso has impressed the Hungarian audience many times, and the seasoned Polish conductor has achieved significant success internationally as well.

Wojciech Kilar, who died in 2013, was an internationally successful composer of new Polish music who consciously turned to an accessible, traditional style in the second half of his career. His 1986 symphonic poem Orawa is a musical landscape poem that commemorates a historic region of Poland that borders Slovakia and has a dramatic past. Although Frédéric Chopin’s Piano Concerto in F minor is considered by posterity to be his second work in the genre, owing to its misleading catalogue numbering, in reality it was the composer’s first. He wrote the piece in 1829, when he was 19 years old. Antonín Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony, on the other hand, is a mature work, and as it was written in 1893 while he was serving as director of the American National Conservatory in New York between 1892 and 1895, is even thought of as the emblematic product of the last decade of the Czech composer’s career. The work is a thrilling blend of the African-American melodies he encountered in the United States with Slavic colours.

In her early years, Ingrid Fliter included Zoltán Kocsis, chief conductor of the Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra, as one of her mentors. What makes the Argentinian pianist’s playing so captivating is the combination of her extraordinary personality with brilliant technique. Now 40, Krzysztof Urbański trained under Antoni Wit, and his main international successes so far have been in Norway, Germany, the United States and Japan.

Wojciech Kilar: Orawa (for string orchestra)
Frédéric Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, op. 21
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E minor (“From the New World”), op. 95

Ingrid Fliter piano

Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra

Conductor: Krzysztof Urbański



Az Apacuka zenekar igazi zenecsemegéket kínál koncertjein! A csapat mindent megtesz, hogy a kiváló hangfalatokat igényesen, ízlésesen tálalja a kultúrára,…

Az egyedi stílusú etno zenét játszó együttes improvizatív módon kezeli a táncos-zenés együttlétet: a gyerekek, sőt a szülők is aktív…

„A legenda színháza, a bűvölet varázsa, a tánc csodája, a szépség bája, a tűz ragyogása: a NOX.” Gigakoncerten éled újjá…

Warning! The basket time limit is about to expire!
estimated time left:

item(s) in basket


Time limit has expired. Please, put item(s) in to basket again.